Disable open tracking

Email clients and providers are beginning to provide their users with privacy settings to block open-tracking pixels, etc. This new setting lets you get ahead of the curve and disable email open tracking in Customer.io, both to respect your audience’s privacy and hide potentially unreliable open metrics.

Open tracking relies on a “tracking pixel” in your messages. When a person opens your message, the tracking pixel loads, alerting your email delivery provider that the person opened the email.

While email open tracking can provide you with an at-a-glance understanding of audience engagement, it is made increasingly unreliable by email clients that allow users to block images from loading when they open messages.

Now, when you go to Settings > Workspace Settings > General Workspace Settings, you can disable open tracking all together, so you can focus on other, more reliable and meaningful metrics, like Clicks and Conversions.

disable open tracking when you create or manage your workspace
disable open tracking when you create or manage your workspace

Learn more

Copied to clipboard!