How we Bill
Your billing is calculated based on your subscription. You can find the details of your subscription on the Plans & Billing page.
Your base plan and details
Your plan includes a base number of people and messages per month. If you go over either limit, you’ll pay additional costs per person or message. Consult your account’s Plans & Billing page to see your your monthly counts of people and messages and any additional usage rates that apply to the current month and plan.
You can find your monthly Profiles and Messages Sent on Your Plan tab.
Messages over your plan’s limit are calculated at a standard rate of $0.12 per 1,000 messages. A message is an email, SMS, push notification, or in-app message that you send to an individual person—or an individual webhook request. If you configure your own SMTP service, messages sent through this service do not count towards your total messages.
You’ll find your message count on your Plans & Billing page.
Additional people and objects
People and objects over your plan’s limits are billed in the same way: we charge your base plan fee in advance and any additional people or objects over your base plan the following month. We base your total counts on the “high watermark” of uniquely-identified people and objects in the billing period, including those that are deleted. You can see your billable counts, and the rates for billable people and objects, under Settings > Plans & Billing. At the beginning of the next cycle, we reset the counts.
We will begin charging for additional objects on July 1, 2023.
Here’s how it works: imagine that you start an Essentials billing plan on September 1st. Your billing period ends October 1st.
- In that time, you add 7,000 people and delete 50 people. At the end of the billing period, your billable people count is 7,000 because deleted people are included in the plan.
- The same goes for objects: if you added 600 total objects and deleted 25 then, at the end of the billing period, your billable object count would be 600. For example, you could have an object type, Online Courses, with 600 individual classes/objects.
On October 1st, you’re charged the base rate for your plan for the next billing cycle plus additional people and objects from the previous billing period.
- Since 5,000 people are included in the Essentials plan, you’re charged for the 2,000 additional people in your account.
- 500 objects are included in the Essentials plan, too, so you’re charged for the hundred that went over your allotment.
After you’re billed, your billable people count resets to 6,950 because you deleted 50 people in the previous billing period. Your billable object count resets to 575 because you deleted 25 objects.
Each month, on your billing date, we will charge the card on file for your subscription for the upcoming billing period.
If you have a premium or enterprise plan, you can choose to pay annually. If you pay annually, we’ll email an invoice to your account’s invoice contact each year. We accept payment for invoices via domestic(US) wire, ACH, or credit card. Additional usage costs for your account are calculated monthly and charged to the credit card on file.
Local, state and federal sales tax may be added to your bill if they are applicable in your location. If your organization is exempt from this for any reason then please email email@example.com.
How to keep track of upcoming bills
Check your Plans & Billing page to see an estimate of your upcoming bill.
If you have questions about your upcoming bill(s), reach out to our billing team.
Where to find receipts
When your billing date rolls around, your invoice or receipt will be sent to the invoice contact on file. You can change who receives these emails by updating your invoice contact on the Account Information page.
If you are an admin, you can also access all historical receipts in your Billing History.
Mistakes in your billing
We make every effort to ensure your billing is an accurate reflection of your usage but we know that mistakes can happen. Our standard grace period for reviewing payments is three months but we appreciate that each situation is different. If something looks off in your billing then please reach out to our billing team on firstname.lastname@example.org and our billing team will look into it for you.