Deleting People and Suppressing Profile IDs

You can delete end-users from Customer.io from either our UI or API. Keep in mind that, no matter which method you choose, when a Person is deleted, all data we hold associated with them is deleted, too. There is no way to recover it!

In the case where you’re honoring a request to be forgotten from an end-user or simply want to prevent a specific profile id from being added back into your Customer.io workspace, we also provide Suppression APIs for preventing further data from being collected.

Deleting People from the People Page

When you need to delete more than one end-user, you can do so via the People page. You can select end-users to individually delete, like this:

Deleting multiple users - Selection

Confirm that you want to delete them, and you’re good to go!

Alternatively, if you need to delete all of the displayed People on a specific page (for example, everyone in a particular segment), you can do so by checking this box, and clicking Delete:

Delete all users on page - checkbox

Deleting a single Person

You can delete a single end-user with the method shown above, or from their individual Person page as well, using the Delete button:

Delete single person - dropdown

Once again, confirm that you want to delete them, and you’re good to go!

Deleting People via the API

To delete an end-user via the API, you can use our DELETE endpoint:

DELETE https://track.customer.io/api/v1/customers/:id/

For details on how to do this, you can refer to our API Documentation.

Remember that, if you’re still sending data to Customer.io via other means (such as the Javascript snippet), the customer could be recreated!

Suppressing Profile IDs via the API

The endpoint for this is:

POST https://track.customer.io/api/v1/customers/:id/suppress

You may suppress a profile id from being added back into your workspace by using our suppress API. If we receive further API event/identify calls for the same id, we’ll notice it’s suppressed and ignore the received API calls.

Note: This call also deletes that person, so it’s not necessary to call both the delete and suppress endpoints.

For more information about suppressing profile ids, please refer to our API Documentation.

Unsuppressing Profile IDs

The endpoint for this is:

POST https://track.customer.io/api/v1/customers/:id/unsuppress

Following a call to unsuppress, identifies and events for a person will behave exactly as they would for a profile id that we haven’t seen before. Identifying a person following an unsuppress will create an entirely new profile for them, with none of the history (messages, journeys, etc.) that might have existed for that id prior to a suppress call.

For more information about unsuppressing profile ids, please refer to our API Documentation.