Deleting People and Suppressing Profile IDs

You can delete people from Customer.io from our UI or API. No matter which method you choose, when you delete a person, you’re deleting all data with them too. There is no way to recover a deleted person’s data!

If you’re honoring a person’s request to be forgotten, or simply want to prevent an identifier from being added to your Customer.io workspace in the future, you can suppress that identifier.

Deleting People from the People Page

You can select and delete people from the People page.

image.png
image.png

Confirm that you want to delete them, and you’re good to go!

Alternatively, if you need to delete all of the people included in your People search results (such as those matching a specific segment), you can do so by clicking the Select all ### people link, and then clicking the Delete button:

image.png
image.png

Suppressing IDs when Deleting People

When you delete people, you can also suppress their identifiers—id or email depending on whether your workspace is id-based or email-based. Suppressing an identifier redacts activity attributed to the person and prevents you from adding a person with that identifier to your workspace in the future. This is typically used for GDPR compliance.

If you suppress an identifier:

  • You cannot reuse the deleted person’s identifier until you unsuppress it.
  • Any attempt to re-add a person with a suppressed identifier is ignored.
  • Activity attributed to the deleted and suppressed identifier (the person) is redacted. Activity Logs show forgotten (anonymous) entries for suppressed identifiers.

If you don’t suppress an identifier:

  • You can reuse a deleted person’s identifier to create a new person.
  • A person you add with the previously-deleted identifier will have no prior data, including their unsubscribe status: the re-added person can trigger previously received campaigns.
  • Activity remains attributed to the deleted person’s identifier. If you re-create a person with the same identifier, the new person has the activity history of the deleted person.
If you don’t suppress the identifiers of deleted people, make sure that your integration does not inadvertantly re-add them.

Deleting a Single Person

You can delete a single end-user with the method shown above, or from their individual Person page as well, using the Delete button:

image.png
image.png

Once again, confirm that you want to delete them, and you’re good to go!

Deleting People via the API

See our API Documentation for help deleting people programmatically.

DELETE https://track.customer.io/api/v1/customers/:id

Remember, if you’re still sending data to Customer.io via other means (such as the Javascript snippet), you can still re-create people you’ve deleted!

 Use the correct URL for your region

If your account is based in the European Union (EU), make sure you use endpoints beginning with track-eu. We redirect traffic from US endpoints to EU-based accounts, however the traffic still passes through US servers and data may be logged in the US.

Suppressing Profile IDs via the API

You can suppress an identifier to redact activity attributed to it and prevent a person from being re-added to your workspace with the same identifier. If we receive further API event/identify calls for the same identifier, we’ll notice it’s suppressed and ignore the received API calls.

Suppressing a person through our API also deletes a person. You don’t need to call both the delete and suppress endpoints.

Use the following call, where the id is either:

  • the id you want to suppress in an id-based workspace
  • the email you want to suppress in an email-based workspace.

POST https://track.customer.io/api/v1/customers/:id/suppress

For more information, see our API Documentation.

 Use the correct URL for your region

If your account is based in the European Union (EU), make sure you use endpoints beginning with track-eu. We redirect traffic from US endpoints to EU-based accounts, however the traffic still passes through US servers and data may be logged in the US.

Unsuppressing Profile IDs

If you previously suppressed an identifier, you can unsuppress it to make it available in your workspace again. The unsuppressed identifier behaves as a new identifier: identifying a person following an unsuppress operation creates an entirely new person, without the history (messages, journeys, etc.) that might have been associated with the identifer prior to a suppress call.

Use the following call, where the id is either:

  • the id you want to unsuppress in an id-based workspace
  • the email you want to unsuppress in an email-based workspace.

POST https://track.customer.io/api/v1/customers/:id/unsuppress

For more information, see our API Documentation.

 Use the correct URL for your region

If your account is based in the European Union (EU), make sure you use endpoints beginning with track-eu. We redirect traffic from US endpoints to EU-based accounts, however the traffic still passes through US servers and data may be logged in the US.